>> -50% Rabatt auf viele bereits preisreduzierte Bücher**

Watch the Lady

THE QUEEN'S GODDAUGHTER.
HER MOST TRUSTED MAID.
ADULTRESS.
ENEMY OF THE STATE.

WHO IS THE REAL PENELOPE DEVEREUX?

Penelope Devereux is a legendary beauty in the court of Elizabeth I, with a smile that would light up the shadows of hell. But it's not just her looks which have won her favour with the Queen wing; her canny instinct for being in the right place at the right time, and her skilled political manoeuvrings under the guise of diplomacy, have rendered her a formidable adversary to anyone who stands in her path. Including Elizabeth.

For Penelope must secure the future of the Devereux dynasty at whatever cost. Even treason. And the Queen, a woman she holds responsible for the death of her father, the exile of her mother and her failure to marry the one man she ever truly loved, is just one more pawn in a deadly game.

Walking the knife-edge of court, whilst ensuring that her reckless brother Essex remains the only star in the Queen's firmament - and out of the Tower - Penelope must plan for the inevitable succession of an ailing monarch.

But her secret letters of friendship to a foreign King - one who has a strong claim to the English throne - could see her illustrious family in the gutter and her own head on the block. It would only take a single mistake, a slip of the tongue, an intercepted message for Penelope to become the architect of her downfall.

In a world where sister is turned against brother, husband against wife, courtier against queen, the rules of the game are forever changing.
Discover the truth in Elizabeth Fremantle's stunning new novel about an extraordinary woman who helped change the course of England's history forever.
This sumptuous historical drama is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory, Hilary Mantel and Jessie Burton.

Praise for Watch the Lady
'The research and historical detail are impeccable . . . and fans will enjoy this evocation of Elizabeth's tumultuous court' Times
'A glamourous tale peopled by warrior poets, flamboyant courtiers and shameless loves, it is also sharp, perceptive and dramatic' Sunday Express
'Be transported to the court of Elizabeth I, where Penelope Devereux is prepared to do anything in the scramble for power. Watch The Lady by Elizabeth Fremantle combines fast-paced storytelling with rich period detail' Good Housekeeping
'If you want an immersive read then this is it. The remarkable story of the beautiful Penelope Devereux comes vividly alive, bursting with colour and detail. The reader is transported to the perilous Elizabethan court, with all its plots, treachery and heartbreak, and gains fascinating insights into some of the most important figures of the time. Yet again Elizabeth Fremantle has produced a pacey, powerful narrative that kept this reader riveted throughout' Jane Thynne
'Penelope Devereux, perspicacious, beautiful and muse of Sir Philip Sidney, will stop at nothing for the sake of her family. I was gripped by the tale of risky political and sexual shenanigans in the court of Elizabeth l' Woman and Home
'Penelope is a fascinating character and beautifully drawn in this enthralling, moving and immaculately written novel... Fremantle handles the intriguing with aplomb and it's impossible to read the books without feeling you are living events alongside the characters' Imogen Robertson, Historia
'Fascinating . . . it's a delight to keep Penelope company as she plunges into the intrigues of Elizabeth's court' The History Girls
'Ever since Queen's Gambit took the world of historical fiction by storm 3 years ago, Liz Fremantle's books have been the ones to watch in the world of Tudor fiction. The combination of depth, intelligence and real historical imagination that she brings to bear on the lesser-known (but immensely powerful) women of the Tudor era is unmatched in contemporary writing and gets better with each book. Not that either of the previous ones were sub par - far from it, they we
Rezension
The research and historical detail are impeccable . . . and fans will enjoy this evocation of Elizabeth's tumultuous court Times
Portrait
E.C. Fremantle holds a First for her BA in English and an MA in Creative Writing from Birkbeck. As Elizabeth Fremantle she is the critically acclaimed author of four Tudor historical novels: Queen's Gambit, Sisters of Treason, Watch the Lady and The Girl in the Glass Tower. She lives in London and Norfolk.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 496
Erscheinungsdatum 11.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4059-0945-7
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 18/10,6/3,5 cm
Gewicht 269 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
3,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 20 Einkaufwert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 40323640
    The Petticoat Men
    von Barbara Ewing
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 43919206
    Girl in the Glass Tower
    von Elizabeth Fremantle
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    14,99
  • 40059595
    Sister of Treason
    von Elizabeth Fremantle
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 30054407
    The Warrior Chronicles 06. Death of Kings
    von Bernard Cornwell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 40059648
    The Architect's Apprentice
    von Elif Shafak
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 44863397
    Essex Serpent
    von Sarah Perry
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    17,99
  • 33721936
    Daughters of the Mersey
    von Anne Baker
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    1,99
  • 38753104
    Augustus
    von John Williams
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 6110691
    Cloud Atlas
    von David Mitchell
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 40200648
    The Fair Fight
    von Anna Freeman
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Watch the Lady - Elizabeth Fremantle

Watch the Lady

von Elizabeth Fremantle

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
3,99
+
=
Queen's Gambit - Elizabeth Fremantle

Queen's Gambit

von Elizabeth Fremantle

Buch (Taschenbuch)
8,99
+
=

für

12,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen