>> Bestseller made in Austria - Jetzt entdecken

To Rise Again at a Decent Hour

*** Winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize 2014 and Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2014 **

'The Catch-22 of dentistry' Stephen King

Joshua Ferris's dazzling new novel To Rise Again at a Decent Hour is about the meaning of life, the certainty of death, and the importance of good oral hygiene.

There's nothing like a dental chair to remind a man that he's alone in the world . . .

Paul O'Rourke - dentist extraordinaire, reluctant New Yorker, avowed atheist, disaffected Red Sox fan, and a connoisseur of the afternoon mochaccino - is a man out of touch with modern life. While his dental practice occupies his days, his nights are filled with darker thoughts, as he alternately marvels at and rails against the optimism of the rest of humanity.

So it goes, until someone begins to impersonate Paul online. What began as an outrageous violation of privacy soon becomes something far more soul-frightening: the possibility that the virtual 'Paul' might be a better version of the man in the flesh . . .

'Frenetic, very funny, it confirms Ferris as a rising star of American fiction' Mail on Sunday

Glorious . . . A very, very funny novel' BBC Radio 4 Saturday Review

'Dismayingly funny in the way that only really serious books can be' Guardian

Joshua Ferris was born in Illinois in 1974. He is the author of Then We Came to the End (2007), which was nominated for the National Book Award and longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, and The Unnamed. In 2010 he was selected for the New Yorker's prestigious '20 under 40' list. In 2014 To Rise Again At A Decent Hour won the Dylan Thomas Prize and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. Joshua Ferris lives in New York.

Rezension
This is fierce, pithy, unforgiving satire, taking a sledgehammer to all-American cracker-barrel homeliness. Its comic energy is fuelled by disgust and exasperation, in the tradition of Roth and Heller and John Kennedy O'Toole. But Ferris is also a dab hand at more delicate humour, every bit as contemporary . . . Ferris is very funny . . . His voice is unique
Portrait
Joshua Ferris was born in Illinois in 1974. He is the author of Then We Came to the End (2007), which was nominated for the National Book Award and longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award, and the highly acclaimed The Unnamed. In 2010 he was selected for the New Yorker's prestigious '20 under 40' list. In 2014 To Rise Again at a Decent Hour won the Dylan Thomas Prize and was shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize. He lives in upstate New York.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 29.05.2014
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780141955919
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook
8,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 26688974
    The Colour Of Magic
    von Terry Pratchett
    eBook
    8,49
  • 42657682
    The Unnamed
    von Joshua Ferris
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42769029
    James Joyce and the Burden of Disease
    von Kathleen Ferris
    eBook
    31,51
  • 45779122
    My Not So Perfect Life
    von Sophie Kinsella
    eBook
    6,99
  • 47543486
    Into the Water
    von Paula Hawkins
    (3)
    eBook
    10,99
  • 35761156
    George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series)
    von George R. R. Martin
    (5)
    eBook
    19,49 bisher 30,99
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42506652
    Everything, Everything
    von Nicola Yoon
    (3)
    eBook
    4,99 bisher 6,99
  • 67922211
    Camino Island
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 40208963
    Thirteen Reasons Why
    von Jay Asher
    eBook
    4,99 bisher 6,49

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.