The Secrets of Wishtide

A Laetitia Rodd Mystery

From the bestselling, award-winning novelist Kate Saunders comes the first in 'The Laetitia Rodd Mysteries', six novels featuring a Victorian lady detective, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, M. C. Beaton and Grantchester
'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of 'The Grantchester Mysteries'
Mrs Laetitia Rodd is the impoverished widow of an Archdeacon, living modestly in Hampstead with her landlady Mrs Bentley. She is also a private detective of the utmost discretion. In winter 1850, her brother Frederick, a criminal barrister, introduces her to Sir James Calderstone, a wealthy and powerful industrialist who asks Mrs Rodd to investigate the background of an 'unsuitable' woman his son intends to marry - a match he is determined to prevent.
In the guise of governess, she travels to the family seat, Wishtide, deep in the frozen Lincolnshire countryside, where she soon discovers that the Calderstones have more to hide than most. As their secrets unfold, the case takes an unpleasant turn when a man is found dead outside a tavern. Mrs Rodd's keen eyes and astute wits are taxed as never before in her search for the truth - which carries her from elite drawing rooms to London's notorious inns and its steaming laundry houses.
Dickensian in its scope and characters, The Secrets of Wishtide brings nineteenth century society vividly to life and illuminates the effect of Victorian morality on women's lives. Introducing an irresistible new detective, the first book in the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series will enthral and delight.
Rezension
'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of 'The Grantchester Mysteries'
Portrait
Kate Saunders is an author and journalist. She has worked for The Times, Sunday Times, Sunday Express, Daily Telegraph and Cosmopolitan amongst others, and has contributed to Radio 4's Woman's Hour and Start the Week. She has written numerous books for adults and children, including the bestselling Night Shall Overtake Us, and her follow on to E Nesbit's Five Children and It stories, Five Children on the Western Front, which won the Costa Children's Book Award in 2014. She lives in London.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 352
Erscheinungsdatum 01.06.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4088-6687-0
Verlag Bloomsbury Academic
Maße (L/B/H) 198/128/25 mm
Gewicht 246
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 20 Einkaufwert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44637897
    A Christmas Escape
    von Anne Perry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 45835404
    London Calling
    von Sara Sheridan
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    23,99
  • 36851093
    A Letter of Mary
    von Laurie R. King
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 46576247
    An Echo of Murder
    von Anne Perry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 27734003
    The Legion
    von Simon Scarrow
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 18771559
    Columbine
    von Dave Cullen
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    16,99
  • 46119431
    Murder on the Serpentine
    von Anne Perry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 46438774
    The Women of Baker Street
    von Michelle Birkby
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 43388458
    His Bloody Project
    von Graeme Macrae Burnet
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 38902685
    Brothers in Blood
    von Simon Scarrow
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Secrets of Wishtide - Kate Saunders

The Secrets of Wishtide

von Kate Saunders

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
+
=
Quest for the Keys (Lego Elves: Chapter Book) - Stacia Deutsch

Quest for the Keys (Lego Elves: Chapter Book)

von Stacia Deutsch

Buch (Taschenbuch)
5,99
+
=

für

13,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen