>> tolino vision 4 HD + eBook-Bundle zum Vorteilspreis | Jetzt sparen**

The Blackened Heart

The reign of Henry's first queen is over. Long Live the Queen.

Review

The Blackened Heart by foremost and beloved historian Alison Weir is an e-short and companion piece that bridges the first two novels in the Six Tudor Queens series, Katherine of Aragon and Anne Boleyn. Fans of Philippa Gregory and Elizabeth Chadwick will delight in this mysterious tale, drawn together from fragments of history - and a good dose of speculation. Or is it...?

Margery Otwell, a self-made gentleman's young daughter, gets her first taste of courtly life when she takes up a position as chamberer to Lady Peche of Lullingstone Castle. Dances, music, feasting - and a seduction - follow, and Margery learns the rules of courtly love the hard way.

Saved from disgrace by the kindly Sir John Peche, Margery finds herself at court waiting on Queen Katherine. Little does Margery know that she is already a pawn in a game of power, irrevocably bound to the fall of the lady she will come to love as her mistress, Queen and friend.

Praise for Alison Weir and Katherine of Aragon:

'A tender understanding of and genuine sympathy for this proud, much-loved and honourable Queen. . . I was gripped [from] start to finish' Mavis Cheek

'Well-researched and engrossing' Good Housekeeping

'Shatters the many myths about Henry VIII's long-suffering first wife' Tracy Borman

'Weir is excellent on the little details that bring a world to life' Guardian

'Yet again, Alison Weir has managed to intertwine profound historical knowledge with huge emotional intelligence, to compose a work that throws light on an endlessly fascinating historical figure. Yet her real gift in all of this is making it feel so fresh and alive' Earl Spencer

'Alison Weir clearly admires her heroine . . . meticulously researched' The Times

'This exquisite book charts the rise and fall of Henry VIII's first wife, Katherine. . . A fascinating insightinto this period of our history. Weir's undeniable strength is her immaculate description, enabling the reader to be transported back to Tudor England' Sun

Weir manages to untangle the complex web of 16th-century politics, shown through Katherine's duties as ambassador, and her astute reading of the games being played. This adds greatly to the heft of the character, demonstrating what a competent woman she was becoming' Herald Scotland

Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen is a true tour de force. Finely crafted, this novel is wonderfulhistorical fiction and an outstanding introduction to the Six Tudor Queens series' Queen Anne Boleyn Blog

'Known for bestselling historical biographies, Alison Weir is in command of her detail . . . her handling of Katherine's misery and dignified response to her predicament is very touching' Elizabeth Buchan, Daily Mail

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja
Seitenzahl 48 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 09.03.2017
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781472235633
Verlag Headline
eBook
0,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 45149333
    Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen - Alison Weir
    Six Tudor Queens: Katherine of Aragon, The True Queen
    von Alison Weir
    eBook
    4,49
  • 61551491
    Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession - Alison Weir
    Six Tudor Queens: Anne Boleyn, A King's Obsession
    von Alison Weir
    eBook
    4,49
  • 51768775
    Commander in Chief - Katy Evans
    Commander in Chief
    von Katy Evans
    eBook
    4,76
  • 56516168
    Still Me - Jojo Moyes
    Still Me
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    11,99
  • 93315590
    Bride in Trouble (Bay of Islands Brides, #1) - Serenity Woods
    Bride in Trouble (Bay of Islands Brides, #1)
    von Serenity Woods
    eBook
    0,00
  • 81859027
    The Pearl Sister - Lucinda Riley
    The Pearl Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    (1)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 26688728
    Can You Keep A Secret? - Sophie Kinsella
    Can You Keep A Secret?
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (13)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45447001
    Bittersweet (True North, #1) - Sarina Bowen
    Bittersweet (True North, #1)
    von Sarina Bowen
    eBook
    0,00
  • 40324787
    The Seven Sisters - Lucinda Riley
    The Seven Sisters
    von Lucinda Riley
    (1)
    eBook
    5,49 bisher 8,99
  • 43647451
    After You - Jojo Moyes
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    6,99

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Blackened Heart - Alison Weir

The Blackened Heart

von Alison Weir

eBook
0,99
+
=
Richard III and the Princes in the Tower - Alison Weir

Richard III and the Princes in the Tower

von Alison Weir

eBook
9,99
+
=

für

10,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen