>> Ihre Thalia-Vorteile: Entdecken Sie unsere Services im Überblick!

Beloved Poison

A Jem Flockhart Mystery, Nominiert: Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2016, Nominiert: Saltire First Book Award 2016

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones, the crumbling hospital . . .' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions

Set in a crumbling hospital in the 1850s, Beloved Poison is a richly atmospheric debut, perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent and Sarah Waters.

x x x

Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy. Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.

And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .

x x x

Praise for E.S. Thomson

'Meticulously researched and masterfully plotted, E.S. Thomson has written a complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable tale' Daily Express

'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph

'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous. The Blood takes you to places you will love to picture but be grateful you can't smell' Chris Brookmyre

'E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers

'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker

'Deliciously dark and vividly atmospheric, menace oozes from every page. Terrific for lovers of historical noir' Saga

'A first class piece of historical crime writing' Big Issue

A marvellous, vivid book ... immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark' Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook
Rezension
Beloved Poison is a marvellous, vivid book with a thoughtful, engaging protagonist at its centre - and a fascinating story to tell. It's immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark. Elaine Thomson's descriptive powers are so great that that I was surprised to see twenty-first century London rather than grimy, smelly St Saviour's around me when I - eventually - looked up from its pages Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook
Portrait
E. S. Thomson's work has been longlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger, and shortlisted for the Saltire Prize, the Scottish Arts Council First Book Award and the William MacIlvanney Crime Book of the Year Award. She has a PhD in the social history of medicine, and tries to fit as much medical history into her books as possible. She works as a university lecturer by day, and writes by night. Elaine lives in Edinburgh with her two sons.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 400
Erscheinungsdatum 01.09.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4721-2229-2
Verlag Little Brown & Co Inc
Maße (L/B/H) 19,5/12,6/3 cm
Gewicht 269 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 20 Einkaufwert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44637894
    Revenge in a Cold River - Anne Perry
    Revenge in a Cold River
    von Anne Perry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 44883592
    The Body on the Doorstep - A. J. MacKenzie
    The Body on the Doorstep
    von A. J. MacKenzie
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 45600579
    A Fever of the Blood - Oscar De Muriel
    A Fever of the Blood
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    21,99
  • 44718088
    Last Days of Night - Graham Moore
    Last Days of Night
    von Graham Moore
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 44842984
    Akin to Murder - Alanna Knight
    Akin to Murder
    von Alanna Knight
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 43823631
    The Second Death - Peter Tremayne
    The Second Death
    von Peter Tremayne
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 42683055
    Dead Man's Blues - Ray Celestin
    Dead Man's Blues
    von Ray Celestin
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 70453522
    The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle - Stuart Turton
    The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
    von Stuart Turton
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 105131067
    Angel Of Darkness - Caleb Carr
    Angel Of Darkness
    von Caleb Carr
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    19,99
  • 61558759
    Loch of the Dead - Oscar De Muriel
    Loch of the Dead
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Beloved Poison - E. S. Thomson

Beloved Poison

von E. S. Thomson

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
+
=
The Damage Done - James Oswald

The Damage Done

von James Oswald

Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=

für

16,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten

Alle kaufen