Warenkorb
 

In Our Mad and Furious City

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2018. Winner of the Jhalak Prize 2019. Winner of the International Dylan Thomas Prize

Guy Gunaratne's blistering debut IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY is an unforgettable portrait of 48 hours on a London council estate, and will appeal to readers of THE BRICKS THAT BUILT THE HOUSES or THIS IS ENGLAND.

'What a voice. What an ear for language... a brave and original piece of work' Kit de Waal, author of MY NAME IS LEON

'A swaggering yet tender and polyphonic debut which capture the nuance of black experience on the streets of London' Observer

For Selvon, Ardan and Yusuf, growing up under the towers of Stones Estate, summer means what it does anywhere: football, music, freedom. But now, after the killing of a British soldier, riots are spreading across the city, and nowhere is safe.

While the fury swirls around them, Selvon and Ardan remain focused on their own obsessions, girls and grime. Their friend Yusuf is caught up in a different tide, a wave of radicalism surging through his local mosque, threatening to carry his troubled brother, Irfan, with it.

Provocative, raw, poetic yet tender, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY announces the arrival of a major new talent in fiction.

Rezension
Guy Gunaratne throws words against the wall and makes us watch them bounce. You feel the heat, reel from the sound, and bump to the unstoppable pulse. A novel so of this moment that you don't even realize you've waited your whole life for it. Marlon James, author of A BRIEF HISTORY OF SEVEN KILLINGS
Portrait
Guy Gunaratne grew up in North West London. His first novel, IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY, won the International DylanThomas Prize, the Jhalak Prize and the Authors' Club Best First Novel Award, and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize. It was also shortlisted for the Goldsmiths Prize and the Gordon Burn Prize, and longlisted for the Orwell Prize for Political Fiction. IN OUR MAD AND FURIOUS CITY was also published in the United States, France, Italy and Sweden. Guy Gunaratne is one of the judges for the Goldsmiths Prize 2019. He lives between the UK and Sweden and has worked as a documentary filmmaker in human rights journalism.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 304
Erscheinungsdatum 19.04.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4722-5020-9
Verlag Headline
Maße (L/B/H) 23,3/15,1/3,8 cm
Gewicht 380 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert ,  Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.