Warenkorb
 

The Reader

Sea of Ink and Gold Band 1

An instant New York Times Bestseller, this is a stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of. Perfect for fans of Inkheart and Shadow and Bone

Finalist for the Kirkus Prize and nominated for the Goodreads Choice Award!

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin's been taken, or if she's even alive. The only clue to both her aunt's disappearance and her father's murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book-a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed-and punish the people responsible. "I was spellbound from the first page. An utterly transportive tale of swashbucklers and sharpshooters, masterfully written."-Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn "Traci Chee's The Reader Could Be The Next Big YA Fantasy Series"-Bustle.com

Rezension
Praise for The Reader:

★ "Commanding storytelling and vivid details, particularly of the magical process of reading, bring the story to life... the first of what promises to be an enchanting series."-Kirkus Reviews, starred review

★ "Deftly rendered in beautiful prose, narrated through three shifting time lines woven into an interconnected history of duty, honor, and magic. . . . This is a must-have for all those who value a good read with genuine character growth, mystery, unique world-building, adventure, unyielding bonds of loyalty, and pirates. . . . A fresh, diverse fantasy; highly recommended for fans of Cornelia Funke's Inkheart and female-powered adventures."-School Library Journal, starred review

★ "Chee's debut is an intricate, multilayered reading experience... An exploration of self-determination and the magic of the written word, Sefia's story is an absorbing introduction to the Sea of Ink and Gold series."-Publishers Weekly, starred review

★ "With evocative language, fascinating world building, multifaceted characters, and a compelling plot, this is a series fantasy lovers will want to sink their teeth into."-Booklist, starred review

"The Reader weaves golden threads through land, sea and the fabric of time in a complex web of powerful magic and dangerous words."-Shelf Awareness

"Traci Chee's The Reader Could Be The Next Big YA Fantasy Series"-Bustle.com

"I was spellbound from the first page. An utterly transportive tale of swashbucklers and sharpshooters, masterfully written. Traci Chee has penned a beautiful novel about the power of story, complete with a fantastic cast of characters and an expertly rendered fantasy landscape. This is a book you will not soon forget."-Renée Ahdieh, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Wrath and the Dawn
Portrait
Traci Chee (tracichee.com) is an all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts. She studied literature and creative writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog. The Reader is her YA debut.

Traci Chee (tracichee.com) is an all-around word geek, she loves book arts and art books, poetry and paper crafts. She studied literature and creative writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and earned a master of arts degree from San Francisco State University. Traci grew up in a small town with more cows than people, and now feels most at home in the mountains, scaling switchbacks and happening upon hidden highland lakes. She lives in California with her fast-fast dog. The Reader is her YA debut.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Chapter 1

    The Consequences of Thievery

    There were redcoats on the road. The gravel path that cut through the tangled jungle was teeming with people, and the mounted Oxscinian soldiers rode above the sea of foot traffic like lords in a parade: their fine red jackets unblemished, their black boots polished to a high shine. At their waists, their sword hilts and gun grips glinted in the gray morning light.
    Any law-abiding citizen would have been happy to see them.
    "No good." Nin grunted, shifting the pile of furs in her arms. "No good at all. Thought this town would be small enough for us to escape notice, but that doesn't seem likely now."
    Crouched in the undergrowth beside her, Sefia surveyed the other shoppers, who carried baskets or towed rattling carts with burlap nests for their infants, the parents calling sharply after dirt-smudged children if they wandered too far. In their trail-worn gear, Sefia and Nin would have blended in well enough, if not for the redcoats.
    "Are they here for us?" Sefia asked. "I didn't think the news would spread so fast."
    "Word travels quick when you've got a face as pretty as mine, girl."
    Sefia forced out a chuckle. Old enough to be her grandmother, Nin was a squat woman with matted hair and a face as tough as rawhide. Being pretty wasn't what made her memorable.
    No, Nin was a master criminal with hands like magic. They were nothing special to look at, but she could slip a bracelet from a woman's wrist with a touch as soft as a breath. She could undo locks with a twitch of her fingers. You had to see Nin's hands at work to really see her at all. Otherwise, in her bear-skin traveling cloak, she looked something like a hill of dirt: dry, brown, ready to crumble in the humidity of the rain forest.
    Ever since they'd fled their home in Deliene, the northernmost of Kelanna's five island kingdoms, they'd kept a low profile as they roamed from one land to the next, surviving on what they could find in the wilderness. But in the hardest winters, when the scavenging was poor and the hunting was worse, Nin had taught Sefia to pick locks, pick pockets, and even steal huge hocks of meat without anyone noticing.
    And for six years, they hadn't been caught.
    "Can't stay here." Nin sighed and hefted the pelts in her arms. "We'll unload these in the next town."
    Sefia felt a twinge of guilt in her stomach. It was her fault, after all. If she hadn't been so cocky two weeks ago, no one would have noticed them. But she'd been stupid. Overconfident. She'd tried to steal a new bandanna for herself-all viridian with gold paisley, much finer than her faded red one-but the clothier had noticed. At the last second, Nin had slipped the bandanna into her own pocket, taking the blame so Sefia wouldn't have to, and they'd left town with redcoats on their heels.
    It had been too close. Someone might have recognized Nin.
    And now they had to leave Oxscini, the Forest Kingdom that had been their home for over a year.
    "Why don't I do it?" Sefia asked, helping Nin to her feet.
    Nin scowled up at her. "Too dangerous."
    Sefia plucked at the topmost pelt in Nin's arms. Half of these were kills she'd brought down and skinned herself, enough to help them pay for passage out of Oxscini, if they ever got into town to trade them. Nin had kept them safe all these years. Now it was Sefia's turn.
    "It might be more dangerous to wait," she said.
    Nin's face clouded. Though the old woman had never explained exactly how she'd met Sefia's parents, Sefia knew it was because someone had been after them. They'd had something their enemies wanted.
    And now Sefia had it.
    For the past six years, she'd carried everything she owned on her back: all the tools she needed to hunt and cook and camp, and at the bottom, slowly wearing holes in the leather, the only thing she had left of her parents-a heavy reminder that they had existed, and now
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Altersempfehlung 12 - 15
Erscheinungsdatum 01.08.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-751805-7
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 21,1/14,1/3,5 cm
Gewicht 430 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden,  Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert ,  Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
Versandfertig innerhalb 48 Stunden
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?

Weitere Bände von Sea of Ink and Gold

  • Band 1

    47948153
    The Reader
    von Traci Chee
    Buch
    8,99
    Sie befinden sich hier
  • Band 2

    95659409
    The Speaker
    von Traci Chee
    Buch
    8,99

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

Eine Welt ohne Bücher.... unvorstellbar
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 03.05.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

Sefia lebt in einer Welt ohne das geschriebene Wort. Sie und ihre Tante Nin, sind immer auf der Hut, wovor weiß Sefia eigentlich nicht bis ihre Tante verschleppt wird und Sefia sich auf eine abenteuerliche, magische und spannende Reise begibt, um ihre Tante zu retten. Dabei trifft sie auf einen stummen Jungen und Käpt’n Lee und ... Sefia lebt in einer Welt ohne das geschriebene Wort. Sie und ihre Tante Nin, sind immer auf der Hut, wovor weiß Sefia eigentlich nicht bis ihre Tante verschleppt wird und Sefia sich auf eine abenteuerliche, magische und spannende Reise begibt, um ihre Tante zu retten. Dabei trifft sie auf einen stummen Jungen und Käpt’n Lee und seine Mannschaft. Eine gute Geschichte voller Abwechslung, toller Charaktere und einer mutigen jungen frau, die alles tut, um ihre Tante zu retten.