Warenkorb

Wives and Daughters

Weitere Formate

Wives and Daughters is a sensitive coming-of-age tale set within a provincial town in Victorian England. Having lost her mother at a young age, Molly Gibson's entre into womanhood and navigation of the adult world of attraction and relationships is stilted. By contrast, her stepsister Cynthia emanates self-confidence and is bolstered by her conniving, opportunistic mother. By unhappy mischance, Molly falls for the very man that the vivacious Cynthia has set her sights on. However, as events unfold, the deceptive nature of appearances becomes apparent, and a dramatic reversal of fortunes occurs. In the tradition of Jane Austen, Wives and Daughters is a captivating novel of social observation, humour and touching romance. Patience Tomlinson is an experienced audiobook reader and presents this novel with a steady, comfortable assurance.
Portrait
Elizabeth Gaskell wurde 1810 als Elizabeth Stevenson in London geboren, aufgewachsen ist sie in Knutsford (Cheshire) bei ihrer Tante. Die junge Frau heiratete 1832 William Gaskell, einen unitarisch freikirchlichen Geistlichen und Universitätsdozenten in Manchester, mit dem sie fünf Kinder hatte. Während sich ihr Mann für die Bildung der Arbeiter engagierte, ist in Elizabeth Gaskells Korrespondenz immer wieder von den sozialen Härten des Frühkapitalismus die Rede. Ihr Erstlingsroman "Mary Barton" verhalf ihr zur Bekanntschaft mit Dickens, für dessen Zeitschrift "Household-Words" sie von nun an literarische Beiträge lieferte. Ihr Erfolg brachte dem nicht gerade reichlich ausgestatteten Haushalt der Gaskells eine finanzielle Entlastung; nun konnte die Schriftstellerin Reisen unternehmen und in den literarischen Salons von London verkehren. Ein halbes Dutzend Romane und rund vierzig Erzählungen entstanden, außerdem eine Biographie von Charlotte Bronte. Sie starb 1865.
Zitat
Patience Tomlinson s narration is generally delightful. She distinguishes all of the speakers convincingly, adding to their depth as well. ...as Molly grows and blossoms, so too does Tomlinson, and by the time the audiobook ends, a more adept reader for this novel would be difficult to imagine. - Francine Levitov, SoundCommentary.com
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
  • Artikelbild-1
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Medium CD
Sprecher Patience Tomlinson
Anzahl 22
Erscheinungsdatum 22.03.2010
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9789626342305
Genre Belletristik
Reihe Complete Classics
Verlag Naxos Audio Books
Spieldauer 999 Minuten
Hörbuch (CD)
Hörbuch (CD)
96,99
bisher 109,99
Sie sparen : 11  %
96,99
bisher 109,99

Sie sparen : 11 %

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 7 - 9 Tagen Versandkostenfrei
Versandfertig in 7 - 9 Tagen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Ihr Feedback ist anonym. Wir nutzen es, um unsere Produktseiten zu verbessern. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir Ihnen keine Rückmeldung geben können. Wenn Sie Kontakt mit uns aufnehmen möchten, können Sie sich aber gerne an unseren Kundenservice wenden.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertungen
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

he is the personification of sensible silence
von Glimmer am 20.02.2014
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

PLOT: Set in English society before the 1832 Reform Bill, Wives and Daughters centres on the story of youthful Molly Gibson, brought up from childhood by her father. When he remarries, a new step-sister enters Molly's quiet life – loveable, but worldly and troubling, Cynthia. The narrative traces the development of the two gi... PLOT: Set in English society before the 1832 Reform Bill, Wives and Daughters centres on the story of youthful Molly Gibson, brought up from childhood by her father. When he remarries, a new step-sister enters Molly's quiet life – loveable, but worldly and troubling, Cynthia. The narrative traces the development of the two girls into womanhood within the gossiping and watchful society of Hollingford. REVIEW: I read this book some time ago, and realised I never reviewed it! Wives and Daughters is Elizabeth Gaskell´s last book, which is a known fact as the last few chapters were never written. Besides this little inconvenience this books is a piece of genius. I think her style of writing really reached it´s hight, it was a pleasure reading that book! While you are on your way grab a copy of "North and South" as well!