>> Ihre Thalia-Vorteile: Entdecken Sie unsere Services im Überblick!

Fortunes of War: The Balkan Trilogy

"The Fortunes of War "is a teeming, complex, and rich novel, alive with the uncertainty and adventure of civilian life during wartime. Olivia Manning has filled the pages of this epic work with vivid characters who, over the course of nearly a thousand pages, tell the larger story of Europe during the trauma of the Second World War. Harriet and Guy Pringle are young newlyweds when they arrive in Bucharest from England, eager to experience life in that cosmopolitan city. It is the autumn of 1939, only a few weeks after Germany's invasion of Poland, and nobody thinks the war will go on for very long-though troop movements and treaties are the only topic of conversation. By the time the Pringles realize that they are in the middle of a worldwide conflict, it is too late to return home. The only thing to do is to join the great mass of displaced people-White Russians, journalists, attaches, and con artists-and move east to Athens. Manning's mastery of the long form allows her to expand both outward and inward, tackling complexities of world politics and interpersonal relationships with equal panache.

Olivia Manning (1908-1980) was born in Portsmouth, England, and spent much of her childhood in Northern Ireland. Her father, Oliver, was a penniless British sailor who rose to become a naval commander, and her mother, Olivia, had a prosperous Anglo-Irish background. Manning trained as a painter at the Portsmouth School of Art, then moved to London and turned to writing. She published her first novel under her own name in 1938 (she had published several potboilers in a local paper under the name Jacob Morrow while a teenager). The next year she married R.D. "Reggie" Smith, and the couple moved to Romania, where Smith was employed by the British Council. During World War II, the couple fled before the Nazi advance, first to Greece and then to Jerusalem, where they lived until the end of the war. Manning wrote several novels during the 1950s, but her first real success as a novelist was "The Great Fortune" (1960), the first of six books concerning Guy and Harriet Pringle, whose wartime experiences and troubled marriage echoed that of the diffident Manning and her gregarious husband. In the 1980s these novels were collected in two volumes, "The Balkan Trilogy" and "The Levant Trilogy," known collectively as "Fortunes of Wa"r. In addition to her novels, Manning wrote essays and criticism, history, a screenplay, and a book about Burmese and Siamese cats. She was made Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 1976, and died four years later. Rachel Cusk is the author of seven novels and two works of non-fiction. She teaches creative writing at Kingston University, London.

… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb



Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 924
Erscheinungsdatum 01.01.2010
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-59017-331-2
Reihe New York Review Books Classics
Verlag Random House N.Y.
Maße (L/B/H) 20,3/12,7/5,1 cm
Gewicht 880 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt. zzgl. Versandkosten
Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30 Einkaufwert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
In den Warenkorb
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.