Meine Filiale

The Silentiary

Antonio Di Benedetto

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
zzgl. Versandkosten
Erscheint demnächst (Neuerscheinung),  Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert ,  Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden
Erscheint demnächst (Neuerscheinung)
Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30  € Einkaufswert
Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kunden

Weitere Formate


€ 14,99

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

€ 17,00

Accordion öffnen


In post-WWII South America, a struggling writer embarks on a murderous thought experiment to help kickstart his career in this next tale of longing from the author of Zama. 

The Silentiary (1964) happens in a nameless Latin American city during the early 1950s. A young man employed in mid-level management entertains an ambition to write a book of some sort. But first he must establish the necessary precondition, which the crowded and noisily industrialized city always denies him, however often he and his mother and wife move house in search of it. He thinks of embarking on his writing career with something simple, a detective novel, and ponders the possibility of choosing a victim among the people he knows, and planning out a crime as if he himself were the killer. That way, he hopes, his book might finally begin to take shape.


This is the second of the three novels by Antonio Di Benedetto that have come to be known as the Trilogy of Expectation, after the dedication “To the victims of expectation” of the first one, 
Zama (1956). Together these three works constitute, in Juan José Saer’s words, “one of the culminating moments of 20th-century narrative fiction in Spanish.”

Antonio di Benedetto (1922-1986) was an Argentine journalist and author of five novels, the most well known being Zama, which is available as an NYRB Classic. His first book, the story collection Mundo Animal (1952), appeared in English translation in 1997 as Animal World.

Juan José Saer (1937-2005) was considered one of the most important Latin American authors to come after Jorge Luis Borges. He wrote several novels, a few of which are available in English, including The Regal Lemon Tree and The Witness. He died in Paris.

Esther Allen has translated Javier Marías, Jorge Luis Borges, Felisberto Hernández, Flaubert, Rosario Castellanos, Blaise Cendrars, Marie Darrieussecq, and José Martí. She currently teaches at Baruch College (CUNY) and has directed the work of the PEN Translation Fund since its founding in 2003. Allen has received a Fulbright Grant (1989), two National Endowment for the Arts Translation Fellowships (1995 and 2010), and was named a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters (2006). She previously translated di Benedetto's novel Zama for NYRB Classics.


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 176
Erscheinungsdatum 07.09.2021
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-68137-562-5
Verlag New York Review Of Books
Übersetzer Esther Allen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0