Same As It Ever Was
- 32% Neu

Same As It Ever Was

A Novel

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)

32% sparen

16,99 € UVP 25,30 €

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Same As It Ever Was

Ebenfalls verfügbar als:

Gebundenes Buch

Gebundenes Buch

ab 24,99 €
Taschenbuch

Taschenbuch

ab 16,99 €
eBook

eBook

ab 12,99 €
  • Kostenlose Lieferung ab 30 € Einkaufswert
  • Versandkostenfrei für Bonuscard-Kund*innen

Beschreibung

Details

Verkaufsrang

277

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

18.06.2024

Verlag

Random House LLC US

Seitenzahl

512

Beschreibung

Rezension

NAMED A BEST FICTION OF 2024 PICK BY PEOPLE

"You need to read this....Claire Lombardo is the new Anne Tyler, with teeth."
Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days

Infidelity, dysfunction, secrets this family novel delivers. . . Poignant, punctilious. . . [Lombardo] refashions domestic drama into something rich and strange, with echoes of Lorrie Moore s sardonic humor and Jonathan Franzen s dissection of class. . . In less skillful hands, Same as It Ever Was would lose control over its transitions and veer toward soap opera; yet like Franzen s Marion Hildebrandt, or Faye, the narrator of Rachel Cusk s Outline trilogy, Lombardo gives us a woman whose inner life is knotted and revelatory. . . Same as It Ever Was is a brave, nuanced book, lulling us with its rhythms but taking risks when we glance away.
Hamilton Cain, The New York Times

Lombardo s witty, sympathetic take on motherhood exudes the sharp scent of fermented apple juice and a full diaper Lombardo has such a fine eye for the weft and warp of a family s fabric. She understands the chemistry of that special epoxy of irritation and affection that keeps a marriage glued together. One finishes Same As It Ever Was with the satisfaction of knowing this complicated woman well and the poignant disappointment of having to say goodbye.
Ron Charles, The Washington Post

This is one of those beautifully written, keenly observed novels where not that much happens other than, you know, life itself but also so much happens. . . Claire Lombardo has written a whole cast of characters so detailed, so specifically themselves, that you almost feel you could reach out and touch them.
Samantha Balaban, NPR

A capacious, tender family drama and ode to marriage. . . Lombardo is a writer who lavishes attention to her characters. . . Same As It Ever Was is a fine-grained portrait of a woman determined to learn how to be a mother, wife, daughter and person. It builds to a moving climax, encompassing along the way unexpected weddings, funerals, reconciliations, and losses. Like life itself.
Christian Science Monitor

Lombardo continues her astute and entertaining observations about messy family dynamics and the imprint they leave on us. . . with wit and a keen eye for the complications of modern life.
The Minneapolis Star Tribune

An engrossing story of maternal complexity and a reminder of the myriad ways the past can quietly inform the present.
Bookpage

"Masterful."
People

Pitch-perfect. . . Lombardo is compulsively readable and consistently funny, and it s impossible to look away as Julia continues to self-sabotage. This domestic drama hits all the right notes.
Publisher's Weekly (Starred Review)

"Lombardo loves her characters, taking time to peel back each of their layers through the time-lapse structure of the novel and her rich descriptions. . . A sure bet for fans of Richard Russo and Jane Smiley.
Booklist

Sparkling. . . Readers will be torn between their instinct to race to the finish and their desire to savor every page.
Publisher's Weekly Summer Reads

Witty and insightful...a powerful exploration of marriage, motherhood, and self.
Bonnie Garmus, bestselling author of Lessons in Chemistry

Details

Verkaufsrang

277

Einband

Taschenbuch

Erscheinungsdatum

18.06.2024

Verlag

Random House LLC US

Seitenzahl

512

Maße (L/B/H)

23,1/15,7/3,8 cm

Gewicht

566 g

Sprache

Englisch

ISBN

978-0-385-55096-3

Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden meinen

0.0

0 Bewertungen

Informationen zu Bewertungen

Zur Abgabe einer Bewertung ist eine Anmeldung im Konto notwendig. Die Authentizität der Bewertungen wird von uns nicht überprüft. Wir behalten uns vor, Bewertungstexte, die unseren Richtlinien widersprechen, entsprechend zu kürzen oder zu löschen.

Verfassen Sie die erste Bewertung zu diesem Artikel

Helfen Sie anderen Kund*innen durch Ihre Meinung

Erste Bewertung verfassen

Unsere Kundinnen und Kunden meinen

0.0

0 Bewertungen filtern

Weitere Artikel finden Sie in

Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
  • Same As It Ever Was